#1 2010-07-03 17:27:16

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

TrayIcon patch

Hi,
i moved here the thread from feature requests since a got a basic patch that works.
Review and comments are welcome


Attachments:
Attachment Icon trayicon.patch, Size: 7,900 bytes, Downloads: 593

Offline

 

#2 2010-07-03 17:47:39

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

Re: TrayIcon patch

*patch updated* to use icons in the menu


Attachments:
Attachment Icon trayicon.patch, Size: 8,424 bytes, Downloads: 556

Offline

 

#3 2010-07-05 22:50:56

zombiepig
Moderator
Registered: 2007-08-30
Posts: 331

Re: TrayIcon patch

Hey iwkse - this looks pretty good smile I won't have a chance to properly test it and commit it until we push out the 1.5.0 release (hopefully sometime this week!) since it introduces a new string and we're basically doing bug fixes only atm, but I'll let you know how it goes after that!!

Offline

 

#4 2010-10-05 12:18:26

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

Re: TrayIcon patch

Hi Z.

any news about the patch?

ps. do you know a good tool (best if GTK+) to view svn log with GUI?
I'm trying now subcommander but i'd enjoy something similar to gitg for git.

Offline

 

#5 2011-09-13 08:56:16

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

Re: TrayIcon patch

Hi, there are any problems with the patch so it has not being included?

Offline

 

#6 2011-09-13 15:31:06

arnymateo
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 19

Re: TrayIcon patch

iwkse wrote:

*patch updated* to use icons in the menu

I tried implementing the patch for the TrayIcon for GCstar and I see in the
menu option under features in the prefrences but I am unable to select the option because it is grayed out. Can you help me, I would like to have this functionality but seem to be doing something wrong.  I am using version 1.6.1. and running windows xp sp3. Any help would be appreciated. smile

Offline

 

#7 2011-09-13 22:31:26

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

Re: TrayIcon patch

Did you port the patch to the current trunk?
If you did so can you attach it so i can test it?

Offline

 

#8 2011-09-13 23:53:58

arnymateo
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 19

Re: TrayIcon patch

iwkse wrote:

Did you port the patch to the current trunk?
If you did so can you attach it so i can test it?

I am new to implementing patches so I just manually added the new lines in the specified files. If you want the files that I changed I can attach them when I get home.

Offline

 

#9 2011-09-14 05:16:49

arnymateo
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 19

Re: TrayIcon patch

Here are the pm files with the patch implemented. In the preferences the show tray icon is grayed out.


Attachments:
Attachment Icon pm files.zip, Size: 47,884 bytes, Downloads: 597

Offline

 

#10 2011-09-14 06:52:14

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

Re: TrayIcon patch

Try forcing the sensitive property for the widgets, not sure how it works in Windows, maybe it doesn't get it by default:

In the file GCMainWindow.pm

before

$itemShow->show;
$itemHide->show;
$itemQuit->show;

add

$itemShow->set_sensitive(1);
$itemHide->set_sensitive(1);
$itemQuit->set_sensitive(1);

To provide a proper patch try to use WinMerge http://winmerge.org/

Offline

 

#11 2011-09-14 07:08:20

iwkse
Member
Registered: 2010-06-23
Posts: 17

Re: TrayIcon patch

I've checked better the code, i think you just don't have the trayicon library for it

Also i noticed an error in the code, because you shouldn't see the trayicon if you don't have the module installed, so the
proper code should be:

        $self->{hasGtk2TrayIcon} = GCExportImportBase::checkModule($self, 'Gtk2::TrayIcon');
    if ($self->{hasGtk2TrayIcon}) { $self->newTrayIcon };
        instead of
        $self->{hasGtk2TrayIcon} = GCExportImportBase::checkModule($self, 'Gtk2::TrayIcon');
    $self->newTrayIcon;

Last edited by iwkse (2011-09-14 07:09:33)

Offline

 

#12 2011-09-14 13:09:32

arnymateo
Member
Registered: 2011-09-12
Posts: 19

Re: TrayIcon patch

OK thanks

Offline

 



Should you have a problem using GCstar, you can open a bug report or request some support on GCstar forums.