• Index
  •  » Support
  •  » MusicBrainz and Discogs Lookup not working in Linux

#1 2020-11-22 10:08:27

themetman

MusicBrainz and Discogs Lookup not working in Linux

I am a Noob to gcStar and want to use it for my CD/LP Music Collection.
I am running version 1.7.1 in Gentoo Linux.
I have no errors when launching from the command line.
I have created a Music Collection.
Great so far.....
Now let's try and find a CD.
When I try and search for an Artist or Title using MusicBrainz or Discogs it just keeps looking and never finds anything.
I can find the CD on the Muzicbrainz Website.
Reading the forum I discovered that you can 'Drag and Drop' the URL from the MusicBrainz Site to gcStar, but for the life of me I cannot see how to do this. I have looked through the documentation and FAQs but no clue there.

Surely the Fetch Information should work from the program. Why does it not?
Thanks in advance

#2 2020-11-23 11:25:31

kerenoc
Administrator
Website

Re: MusicBrainz and Discogs Lookup not working in Linux

Version 1.7.1 is outdated as many website have changed since its release. The newest version is available on Gitlab.

It supports MusicBrainz. For Discogs, the key to use the API seems to be no longer valid. If you have an account on Discogs, you may try to get a new key for downloading info from the site and I could help you inject it into GCstar.

#3 2020-11-23 12:38:16

themetman

@keronoc, thenks for the reply.
I have downloaded the newest version from Gitlab, and followed the instructions, but I cannot find libgtk2-perl in Gentoo. I do have dev-perl/Gtk2 installed.
Then I tried to run it from the download and had this error:

Code:

Fatal error with importer GCImportScanner

Can't locate object method "new" via package "GCImport::GCImporterScanner" (perhaps you forgot to load "GCImport::GCImporterScanner"?) at (eval 313) line 1.