#1 2020-12-17 23:17:43

asodpz
New member
Registered: 2020-06-10
Posts: 5

Package Repository is down?

I had to format my computer and I'm having trouble installing the program again, it looks like the package repository is down.

message when using ActivePerl:
PS C:\Windows\system32> ppm repo add http://www.sisyphusion.tk/ppm/
ppm.bat repo failed: Repo www.sisyphusion.tk already set up with URL http://www.sisyphusion.tk/ppm/
PS C: \ Windows \ system32> ppm install gtk2
Downloading ActiveState Package Repository packlist ... redirect
Downloading ActiveState Package Repository packlist ... not found
Downloading www.sisyphusion.tk packlist ... failed 500 Can't connect to www.sisyphusion.tk:80 (nodename nor servname provided, or not known)
ppm.bat install failed: Can't find any package that provides gtk2 "

When I try with Strawberry Perl:
C: \ Windows \ system32> ppm install http://www.sisyphusion.tk/ppm/Glib.ppd
ppm install failed: 500 Can't connect to www.sisyphusion.tk:80 (nodename nor servname provided, or not known)

Would anyone have an alternative?

Thanks in advance!

Offline

 

#2 2020-12-20 09:56:25

kerenoc
Administrator
Registered: 2016-03-19
Posts: 388
Website

Re: Package Repository is down?

If the sisyphusion site is down, you may try to install the missing modules with "cpan install" on Strawberry Perl.

Otherwise, you may ask for help in the Perl-GTK mailing list (https://lists.perl.org/list/gtk-perl-list.html)

Offline

 

#3 2021-02-03 22:01:16

asodpz
New member
Registered: 2020-06-10
Posts: 5

Re: Package Repository is down?

Could someone please make an updated and tested installation tutorial for windows using the latest build?
I continue to have problems with the installation, I am probably making mistakes at some stage.
Thank you!

(Sorry, English is not my native language).

Offline

 

#4 2021-03-04 13:41:18

kerenoc
Administrator
Registered: 2016-03-19
Posts: 388
Website

Re: Package Repository is down?

A new installer program for Windows is available for the 1.7.3 version  based on Gtk3.

Caveat : GTK3 translations are not working and some menu items remain in english. The UI as some random glitches as well as scanning barcodes.

Offline

 



Should you have a problem using GCstar, you can open a bug report or request some support on GCstar forums.